Archive: Mahler Meets Glass

Grafenegg Wolkenturm


  • European Union Youth Orchestra
  • Katia Labèque, piano
  • Marielle Labèque, piano
  • Vasily Petrenko, conductor


Philip Glass: Concerto for two Pianos and Orchestra

- Interval -

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 1 in D major


European Union Youth Orchestra · Katia Labèque · Marielle Labèque · Vasily Petrenko

Glass · Mahler

The writer Karl Kraus reported on a «fierce battle in the audience» at the premiere of Mahler’s 1st Symphony. Philip Glass too broke with convention, leaving his teacher Arnold Schönberg to pursue work with Ravi Shankar and explore Minimalist Music.

Glass, who is a fan of the sisters Katia and Marielle Labèque, has dedicated his new concerto for two pianos to them. The European Union Youth Orchestra (EUYO), which celebrates its 40th anniversary this year, reinvigorates the revolutionary potential of these pieces with its 130 musicians from across the EU. Vasily Petrenko will make his first appearance as Chief Conductor of the EUYO.


My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List