• State Academic Symphony Orchestra of Russia «Evgeny Svetlanov»
  • Rudolf Buchbinder, piano
  • Vasily Petrenko, conductor


Sergei Prokofiev
Symphony No. 1 in D major op. 25 «Symphonie classique»

Robert Schumann
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in a minor op. 54


Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Symphony No. 4 in f minor op. 36


State Academic Symphony Orchestra of Russia «Evgeny Svetlanov» • Rudolf Buchbinder • Vasily Petrenko

Prokofiev • Schumann • Tchaikovsky

The young Russian conductor Vasily Petrenko is Chief Conductor of the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. He comes to Grafenegg with the Russian National Orchestra and is joined by Rudolf Buchinder for a performance on the Wolkenturm.

The selection of works reflects the Russian homeland of the renowned orchestra, while a German, Romantic counterpart is included in the form of Schumann’s dazzling Piano Concerto. This high-water mark of the piano repertoire is preceded by Prokofiev’s charming «Symphonie classique». In the second half, Vasily Petrenko conducts Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony, which the composer dedicated to his friend and patron Nadezhda von Meck.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List