• The Cleveland Orchestra
  • Leila Josefowicz, violin
  • Franz Welser-Möst, conductor


Thomas Adès: Dances from the Chamber Opera «Powder her Face» op. 14

Thomas Adès: «Concentric Paths» Concerto for Violin and Chamber Orchestra

- Interval -

Richard Strauss: Sinfonia domestica op. 53


The Cleveland Orchestra · Leila Josefowicz · Franz Welser-Möst

Adès · Strauss

When Franz Welser-Möst speaks about music, he goes for the details: the big effect of the small gesture, listening carefully in order to catch the unheard. With these virtues he has turned the Cleveland Orchestra into one of the world’s leading ensembles. Now he contrasts the lightfooted dances and «concentric circles» of British composer Thomas Adès with the opulent «Sinfonia domestica» by Richard Strauss.

A piece in which the composer explores his own biography, having said that «I don’t see why I shouldn’t write a symphony about myself; I find myself quite as interesting as Napoleon or Alexander».

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List