• Mariinsky Orchestra
  • George Li, piano
  • Valery Gergiev, conductor


Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in b-flat minor op. 23

- Interval -  

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4 in f minor op. 36


Mariinsky Orchestra · George Li · Valery Gergiev


The torments of his own existence were the greatest source of inspiration for Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky. When his marriage failed, he looked to his patron Nadezhda von Meck for support and it is to her that the 4th Symphony is dedicated: a gigantic emotional outburst, with fanfare introduction, the spirit of the waltz and the funfair, and the sword of Damocles ever present.

The conductor Valery Gergiev, a die-hard Tchaikovsky fan, has also put the First Piano Concerto on the programme: Tchaikovsky composed it for the pianist Nikolai Rubinstein – who refused it for being too revolutionary. The laureate of the recent Tchaikovsky Competition will take up the challenge.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List