• Nikolai Lugansky, piano
  • Yuri Temirkanov, conductor


Maurice Ravel:
«Ma mère l'Oye. Cinq pièces enfantines» Suite for Orchestra

Sergei Prokofiev:
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 3 in C major op. 26

- Interval -

Modest Mussorgsky:
«Pictures at an Exhibition» (Orchestration: Maurice Ravel)


St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra · Nikolai Lugansky · Yuri Temirkanov

Ravel, Prokofiev, Mussorgsky

Music to waken Sleeping Beauty with a kiss: Fairy-tales inspired Ravel to write his piano suite «Ma mère l’oye» («Mother Goose»). Having set «Sleeping Beauty» to music, his friends wanted to hear more. And so the fairy-tale cycle was born. It was also Ravel who arranged Mussorgsky’s piano cycle «Pictures at an Exhibition» for orchestra, making it a worldwide success. In Grafenegg, pianist Nikolai Lugansky journeys between Russia and France, performing Sergei Prokofiev’s Third Piano Concerto along the way

Supporting programme

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List