• Vienna Philharmonic, orchestra
  • Daniel Harding, conductor


Gustav Mahler:
Symphony No. 6 in a minor «Tragic»


Vienna Philharmonic · Daniel Harding


The intimacy of despair: Gustav Mahler’s Sixth Symphony, known as the Tragic», was written in Vienna. For the Vienna Philharmonic it is part of the core repertoire; for Daniel Harding it is the chance to seek out the composer’s intimate longings and fears. For Alma Mahler the Sixth was always one of her husband’s most inward-looking works. No work flowed so directly from the heart», she said, «it is his most personal work and a prophetic one at that.»

The Prelude also features the Vienna Philharmonic in the form of the Koncz-Ensemble Wien.

Supporting programme

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List